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PURPOSE

This Policy Directive provides guidelines for the eligibility and payment for child care services
for children in public family foster care and formal kinship placements. Effective July 1, 2008,
this program is funded out of a dedicated pool of funds as part of maintenance payments. This
policy does not apply to private treatment foster care programs and independent living programs
(mother with infant child).

FOSTER/FORMAL KINSHIP FAMILY CHILD CARE SERVICES:
DEFINITIONS

Child Care:

Care in a setting that is approved, licensed, or license-exempt under Maryland law by an
individual other than the parent, stepparent, guardian, or caretaker for less than a 24-hour day
and for which compensation is paid.

Child Care Center:
A facility providing child care that is:
(a) Licensed pursuant to COMAR 13A.16;
(b) Operated under a letter of compliance issued pursuant to COMAR 13A.17;
(c) Licensed by any branch of the military under applicable military child care
regulations;
(d) Operated by a public school; or
(e) Certified by the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene as a youth camp as
defined by Health-General Article, §14-401, Annotated Code of Maryland.

Child Care Subsidy (CCS) Program:
Refers to the system of providing financial assistance for child care to an eligible family, under
which the contractor pays to the provider all or part of the payment on behalf of the family.

Family:
(a) "Family" means the family unit consisting of:
~ (i) One or more adults and children, related by blood, marriage, adoption, or legal
"7 guardianship, and residing in the same household; or
(ii) Adults with physical custody of a child, related or unrelated, who are residing
in the same household.
(b) "Family" includes unrelated adults with children in common who reside together,
whether either has other children residing in the household.
(¢) "Family" does not include:
(i) Unrelated adults with no children in common residing together; or

(ii) Related adults, other than spouses, residing together.

Family Child Care Home:
(2) "Family child care home" means a residence, other than the home of the child for whom

CCS is requested, in which family child care is provided.



Case 1:84-cv-04409-ELH Document 656-5 Filed 08/04/21 Page 3 of 11
Policy Directive SSA-CW# 16-21
Page 3 of 6

(b) "Family child care home" includcs a:
(i) Family child care home registered to operate pursuant to COMAR 13A.15
or applicable military child care regulations; or
(ii) Large family child care home registered to operate pursuant to COMAR
13A.18.

Informal Child Care:
Refers to child care that:
(a) Does not require the child care provider to be licensed or regulated under Maryland
law; and
(b) Is limited to:
(i) Relative care;
(ii) In-home care; and
(iii))Babysitting.

(Formal) Kinship Care:

A living arrangement whereby continuous 24-hour care and supportive services are provided for
a minor child placed by a local department of social services in the home of a relative related by
blood or marriage within the fifth degree of consanguinity of affinity.

MSDE:
Maryland State Department of Education.

Provider:
Refers to:
(a) A family child care home;
(b) A child care center; or
(¢) An individual approved by the Child Care Subsidy (CCS) Branch to provide informal
child care.

Reconsideration:

The process of reapplying for the CCS, every six months, based on the date when the public foster
family or kinship care family initially applied for CCS and the subsequent dates of
reconsideration that are to follow in six-month intervals.

Summer Break:
The time between the end of one school year and the beginning of another, as defined by the

jurisdiction’s public school calendar.

Training:

Any type of formal instructional program, except for post-college graduate programs, which is
approved by the local department, including undergraduate college, vocational program or
publicly funded training program designed to lead to employment.

SERVICES OFFERRED

Maryland's Public Foster Care Families and Formal Kinship caregivers may request CCS from
their local department of social scrvices (The costs associated with child care services does not
include the cost of placement.). Formal Kinship caregivers must first request Child Care through
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the current MSDE CCS process, and will receive Child Care assistance from the local
department of social services if determined to be ineligible for Purchase of Care because the
family's income is over scale. CCS are limited to five (5) days per week. The caretaker must
request this service at least fourteen (14) days in advance. The fourteen (14) day advance notice
may be waived in cases where:

(a) The placement is new; or

(b) The placement is at risk for disruption.

The local department of social services will make a determination of eligibility using the
following criteria:
(a) The child must be in the custody of a local department of social services of the Maryland
Department of Human Resources;
(b) The child is receiving out-of-home placement services in a public foster family or with a
formal Kinship caregiver; and
(¢c) The child's age ranges from infancy through five (5) years of age; or
(d) The services are to be provided during a summer break on behalf of a child up until their
13th birthday.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE
There is no income cutoff for CCS eligibility. The following individuals are eligible to receive
the Foster Family Child Care Subsidy:

e Public restricted and unrestricted foster families receiving regular, intermediate, or
treatment board rates. (This does not apply to private purchase of care families or private
treatment foster care families);

e Formal Kinship caregivers where the child is committed to the local department and
placed in a home that has not gone through the foster home approval process.

A single public foster parent or kinship caregiver who is employed;

Public foster families or kinship caregivers where both parents are employed;

A single public foster parent or kinship caregiver who is participating in a school or
training program;

e Public foster families or kinship caregivers where both parents are participating in school
or training programs or where one is employed and the other is in school or a training
program; or

e Anunemployed public foster parent or kinship caregiver who cares for a medically or
emotionally fragile foster child, if there is a written recommendation from & therapist,
psychiatrist, psychologist or physician that would indicate the need for child care
services.

WHO CAN BE USED AS CHILD CARE PROVIDERS
A Child Care provider must be:
e An MSDE licensed, approved, or registered family child care provider, an informal child
care provider as defined by this policy or a child care center.

HOW TO APPLY
A child cannot apply for child care services. The foster/kinship caregiver must initiate the
request for the Foster Family Child Care Subsidy for each child individually by filling out
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Sections 1 and 2 of the form attached to this policy (Attachment I), signing it, and giving it to the
child's caseworker. The child's caseworker will complete the form, sign it, and give it to the
caseworker's supervisor, who will authorize payment. The child's caseworker will maintain a
record of requests for CCS. Copies must be forwarded to the foster/ kinship family's home
worker within five (5) days of the request.

PUBLIC FOSTER FAMILY CHILD CARE RATES & CHARGE CODE
This program is funded out of a dedicated pool of funds as part of Ancillary Flex Funds. The
new charge codes for this dedicated pool are:
e 2194 - Foster Care Resource Home Support Day Care (IV-E eligible, including IV-E
eligible children in Formal Kinship Care (i.e., the kinship homes are regular or restricted
Foster Care homes)).
e 7194 - Foster Care Resource Home Support Day Care (Non-IV-E).
e 7195 - Kinship Care Resource Home Support Day Care (Non-IV-E including [V-E
eligible children placed in non-approved homes (i.e., the kinship homes are something
other than a regular or restricted Foster Care home)).

This Policy Directive allows for the continued use of Super Flex Funds for childcare for foster
children 6 to 12 for before and after school care. The authority to make this expenditure lies
with the local department but the expenditure must be charged against the local department's
allocation of Super Flex Funds. The charge codes for these discretionary Child Care services are
the same as previously existed within the Super Flex categories:
e 2132 - Discretionary Day Care - Foster Care (IV-E eligible, including IV-E eligible

children in Formal Kinship Care (i.e., the kinship homes are regular or restricted Foster

Care homes)).

7132 - Discretionary Day Care - Foster Care (Non-IV-E eligible).

7192 - CPS Day Care.

7193 - Discretionary Day Care - Kinship Care (Non-IV-E eligible).

Payment to any of these Child Care category codes (xx94. xx95, xx32. xx92, xx93) should be
made through the MD CHESSIE Service Log,

Payments are to be made as follows:

1. Payments are to be made to the Child Care provider following utilization of services
~ and after a monthly bill has been submitted that includes the number of days the
. child attended and missed during the month;

2. The worker must authorize the invoice and submit it to the local department f'mance

office for processing;

3. All charges that exceed MSDE payment standards shall be the financial

responsibility of the public foster family;

4. A maximum of five (5) absences per month will be excused;

5. The local department will not pay for absences that exceed five (5) per month; and

6. The cost of placement should not be included in the cost of child care services.
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RATE OF PAYMENT AND COST GUIDELINE

Rates are determined from MSDE regulations taking the weekly rate times 4.3 (the number of
weeks in a month) and rounded to the nearest whole dollar. It is important to notethat the rates
will vary based on jurisdiction. As noted in COMAR (1 3A 14.06.11) there are currently seven (7)
CCS regions within the State (see Attachment I).

RESPONSIBILITY OF LDSS
Keep accurate information regarding IV-E eligibility for each child requiring Child Care services.

Keep records of all Child Care requests.

Document usage on the contact notes in CHESSIE.

Maintain current profiles of all informal Child Care providers.

Conduct areconsideration of all Child Care plans every six months.

Provide on-going re-assessment of the individual child care programs to evaluate need and
appropriateness.

Maintain MSDE standards when approving all child care provider programs.

RESPONSIBILITY OF DHR/SSA

Provide technical assistance to local departments inthe tracking and monitoring of
funds for Child Care services.

Provide support, assistance and advocacy.

Collect data to assess the effect of child care services on foster parent recruitment and
retention outcomes.

In collaboration with the Maryland Foster Parent Association and the local
departments, develop approaches to improving the utilization of Child Care services.
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Rate Guidelines
A separate child care provider payment rate is established for each of the following seven
purchases of child care service regions within the State:

(a) Region U - Cecil, Queen Anne's, St. Mary's, Talbot, and Washington;

(b) Region V - Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Somerset and Wicomico;

(¢) Region W - comprising Anne Arundel, Calvert, Carroll, Charles, and Prince

George's;

(d) Region X - Howard and Montgomery counties;

(e) Region Y — Baltimore County, Frederick, and Harford;

() Region Z - Allegany, Garrett, and Worcester; and

(g) Region BC - Baltimore City.

Weekly Rate of Payment and Cost Guidelines - Family Child Care
The amount paid to a family child care provider who cares for a child in the provider's home 1s
the lowest of the:
(a) Regional weekly service unit rates established by this regulation;
(b) Weekly rate charged to the general public by the provider if that rate is comparable and
competitive with the going rate in the community; or
(c) Actual cost of care.
1. Rate for a child 24 months old or older:
6 Region U - $93.63;
(i)  RegionV - §83.11;
(iii)  Region W -$115.97;
(iv)  Region X -$147.43;
v) Region Y - $115.91;
(vi)  Region Z - $85.46; and
(vii) Region BC - $106.35.

2. Rate for a child up to 24 months old:

@) Region U - $123.00;

(ii) Region V - $100.34;

(it)  Region W -$156.71;

(Gv)  Region X -$184.50;

) Region Y - $148.63;

(vi)  Region Z - $97.38; and
(vi  Region BC - $141.08.

Weekly Rate of Payment and Cost Guidelines - Child Care Center
The amount paid to a child care center is the lowest of the:
(a) Regional weekly service unit rates established by this regulation; or
(b) Weekly rate charged to the general public by the child care center if that rate is
comparable and competitive with the going rate in the community; or Actual cost of care.
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1. Rate for a child 24 months old or older:
i) Region U - $108.24;
(ii) Region V - $91.25;
(ii) Region W -$126.00;
(iv)  Region X -$166.95;
(v) Region Y - $128.18;
(vi)  Region Z - $87.79; and
(vii) Region BC - $112.16.

2. Rate for a child up to 24 months old:

) Region U - $172.42;

(ii)  RegionV - $146.79;

(iii) Region W -$199.88;

(iv)  Region X -$261.38;

) Region Y - $208.29;

(vi) RegionZ-$112.75; and
(vi) Region BC - $187.79.
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Weekly Rate of Payment and Cost Guidelines - Informal Child Care

(a) Rate for a child 24 months or older:
@) Allegany County - $53.76;
(ii) Anne Arundel County - $56.81;
(iii) Baltimore County - $60.38;
(@iv) Calvert County - $56.81;
) Caroline County - $41.53;
(vi) Carroll County - $56.81;
(vii) Cecil County - $53.76;
(viii) Charles County - $56.81;
(ix) Dorchester County - $41.53;
(x) Frederick County - $60.38;
(xi) Garrett County - $54.01;
(xii) Harford County - $60.38;
(xiii) Howard County - $75.92;
(xiv) Kent County - $41.53;
(xv)  Montgomery County - $75.92;
(xvi) Prince George's County - $56.81;
(xvii) Queen Anne's County - $46.88;
‘(xvili)  St. Mary's County - $53.76;
(xix) Somerset County - $41.53;
(xx) Talbot County - $46.88;
(xxi) Washington County - $5401;
(xxii)  Wicomico County - $41.53;
(xxiii) Worcester County - $44.07; and
(xxiv)  Baltimore City - $54.77.

(b) Rate for a child up to 24 months:
) Allegany County - $62.93;
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(ii)
(ii1)
@iv)
)
(v1)
(vii)
(viii)
(ix)
(x)
(x1)
(xii)
(xiii)
(xiv)
(xv)
(xvi)
(xvii)
(xviii)
(xix)
(xx)
(xx1)
(xxii)
(xxiii)
(xxiv)

Anne Arundel County - $71.84;
Baltimore County - $71.84;
Calvert County - $71.84;
Caroline County - $46.88;
Carroll County -$73.12;

Cecil County - $55.28;
Charles County - $71.84;
Dorchester County - $46.88;
Frederick County - $71.84;
Garrett County - $62.93;
Harford County - $71.84;
Howard County - $90.95;

Kent County - $46.88;
Montgomery County - $90.95;
Prince George's County - $71.84;
Queen Anne's County - $55.28;
St. Mary's County - $62.93;
Somerset County - $46.88;
Talbot County - $55.28;
Washington County - $55.28;
Wicomico County - $46.88;
Worcester County - $46.88; and
Baltimore City - $69.04.
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FOSTER/KINSHIP FAMILY CHILD CARE
APPLICATION/REDETERMINATION
SECTION I -- TO BE FILLED OUT BY FAMILY

Date of request:

Name of foster/kinship caregiver(s):
Address & zip code:

Caregiver telephone#

Caregiver emergency telephone#

Circle placement type: foster family - restricted foster family - formal kinship

Social Security # (s): Primary Secondary

Client Identification #
SECTION II - TO BE FILLED OUT BY FAMILY

Note: Submit documentation of medical and/or emotional status of each child that necessitates
child care services

PRIMARY FOSTER/KINSHIP CAREGIVER:
Name of employer and/or school:

Address of Employer and/or school:

Days and Hours needed:

Note: Documentation must be submitted to support child care services and hours needed

SECONDARY FOSTER/KINSHIP CAREGIVER:

Name of employer and/or school:

Address of Employer and/or school:

Days and Hours needed:

Note: Documentation must be submitted to support child care services and hours needed (i.e.

written recommendation from a licensed professional, pay stubs, school/training program
schedule, etc.)
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SECTION I1I - TO BE FILLED OUT BY LOCAL DEPARTMENT STAFF

Child’s Name:

Client Identification #

Date of Birth:

Name and Address of Child Care:

Days and Hours of Care:

FOR THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS INDICATE YES OR NO:

Previously used child care/summer camp services for foster/kin care
Currently utilizing (foster/kin) child care/summer camp services

New request:

CIRCLE THE KIND OF CARE USED:

Licensed Home Center - Licensed Provider - Informal Program - Summer Camp
Note: If Informal Program is circled, indicate the name and relationship:
Name:

Relationship (kin or non-kin):

SECTION IV Filled Out by L.ocal Department Staff

Signature of Primary Foster/Kinship Parent Date
Signature of Secondary Foster/Kinship Parent (if applicable) Date
Caseworker’s Signature Date
Supervisor’s Signature Date
Resource Home Worker’s Signature (if applicable) Date
Supervisor’s Signature (if applicable) Date




